A Foray into Weaving

On Saturday 27th July 2013 I purchased a
Ashford Knitters Loom
from a lovely lady, Lindy Boshler, from Margate, QLD.

Loom Set Up( Me sitting on the floor reading the manual on how to Warp Up)

The reason for me purchasing this loom is because I think I am getting arthritis in my fingers which has been hampering my knitting endeavors of late 😦  Actually most of my crafting has been affected which is why I haven’t been online of late.

One of the things I love about the Ashford Knitters Loom is that I can take this loom with me when I go to places. So I will be able to take this with me to my Friday Morning Crafters Group and I will also be able to take it with us when we go on holidays as well.  I am going to have to figure out what I can do in other situations.

But onto my first project.  I had bought some Autumn Variegated Wool Yarn and also some Green and Fawn Acrylic Yarn with me when I knew I would be buying the loom.  So once I got the loom set up & I read through the warping instructions I set up the loom on a small table & placed a dining chair the distance away from the loom as specified by the manual.

The next step was to start the warpinWarping the Loomg process.  This was a little tedious but it had to be done and once it was done I could get onto the fun part of working the AuWorking the Wefttumn Variegated Wool Yarn across the weft.

I had to learn how to work the loom and how to manipulate the tools as well.  But I had so much fun doing this and starting to learn this new craft.

I worked on this for most of Saturday night and then I worked on it on Sunday afternoon as well and I finished the project. 😀

A scarf which measures 162cms (64inches) which if I would be knitting the project would have taken at least a week if not more for me to complete has taken just over a day.  Of course this was over a weekend so once I am doing this during the week this will slow down I think. But I cant wait to get on with my next project.

Autumn Scarf July 2013My finished project.  I am quite happy with how it has turned out but of course there are things that I don’t like about it but these are technical things which I think will get better as I do more projects.

Thanks for taking the time to stop by my blog and looking at my creations.  Don’t forget that if I mention any products in my posts, and you are interested in buying these, I will always direct link to where you are able to purchase them if they are still available. And to let me know that you stopped on by today and what you thought of my creation, why not leave me a comment below.  I love to hear what people think of my creations – feedback is how I improve my craft.  And my final thought for you today is that you find yourself doing something you love.

Hugs & Blessings Always
My Name

Leave a Reply

