2 Ways to Colour

Hello everyone,


I am going to share with you 2 ways that I coloured some images. For these cards I was inspired by the technique challenge that is happening over on the 52 Christmas Card Throwdown Challenge.

On the 52CCT blog Andreja has asked us to use a colouring medium such as pens, paints or pens.

For my 2nd card using this technique I chose to use a digital image that came from Meljen Digital Stamps. They are no longer trading but I still love using the images that I bought from them. These snowmen with their fun antics always make me smile.

To colour in these snowmen I used my Faber-Castell Polychromos Pencils. Starting to use my pencils more, they are a different medium to get used to but I love the soft type of image I can end up with. The background paper was one that I had made with a purple distress ink and a stencil on some light blue paper awhile ago and was sitting on my desk. I thought that it went well with the scarf that is hanging in the 3rd picture so it was great that it was already created.

For the 2nd card that I used colouring on, I used a Stampin Up set of stamps which comes with the colouring stamp as well. But I added some extra details with my pens. This set is called Trucking Along. By using some brown and light blue paper these were a great starting place for the stamping of the clouds, tree, grass, and the road. The grass didn’t come out very well so I used a green Tombow marker to give me some bushes instead.

The truck itself I stamped on a seperate piece of cardstock because I wanted to keep some of the elements the pure white colour. Having the stamps that coloured the images made this so much simpler. Since I was making a country style image I decided to use a light blue check as my main panel but I didn’t have a piece big enough so I used a piece of light purple paper. The reason I chose this was because there is purple in the thin strip which I placed across the check paper. To bring the card together I used a dark blue cardstock as the border on both the main panel and the image.

Thanks for stopping in and looking at my cards that I made using the inspiration from 52CCT. Please stop on by the blog and see what the other designers have done with this technique.

Until next time,
Be Kind to Yourself and Others
Tracy

Leave a comment